You Smell!

Yes our boys have reached that age. It is now uncool for Mom and Dad to say “I love you” in a public setting. They might be shunned at school if one of their friends were to hear us express our love for them. Now as they get out the car for baseball, school, or a sleep over they no longer give me a hug from the back seat and say those three words. I’m lucky if I get a “Bye dad” or the male head nod (guys you know what I’m talking about.) They slam the car door, no longer looking back at me as I watch them disappear.

This kind of stung at first, knowing they were reaching that stage where their parents are seen as “uncool,” listen to weird music, hugs are unwanted and Kisses from mom are nearly toxic while in public.

After a little thought I came up with an idea, a code that I could say to them that would express my love for them while maintaining their sense of parental separation. Only they would know what I meant, none of their friends would get it.  “You smell!” I yelled as they left they car. They only turned for a moment shook their head and smiled.  “It means I love you,” and now I can yell it as loud as I want to and only they understand. “You smell too dad.” they laugh back, and I smile. I win this round of the war of coolness.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jacksvalentine
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 09:34:32

    That. Is. Awesome.

    Reply

  2. Brenda Boitson
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 09:56:31

    Bwhahahhahaa, I LOVE IT. Hey, YOU SMELL 😉

    Reply

  3. mrsmommabee
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 14:24:20

    i love this idea!

    Reply

  4. Amy Good
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 15:43:09

    What an awesome idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

