My Son Likes Pink

Anthony walked into the kitchen, hopped up on his breakfast stool. He began his morning ritual of talking our ear off as Papa prepared breakfast and I worked on getting my lunch together for work. As I glanced over at Anthony, I noticed Anthony was twirling a necklace in his fingers. A pink necklace.

“Anthony – Where did you get that necklace?”

“Oh, I found it.”

“You found it?” I asked skeptically. I was convinced my 11 year old son must be currently “dating” and was wearing his girlfriend’s necklace. A little unconventional but who was I to judge?

“Yeah – I found it at school. It attaches by a magnet! Isn’t that cool!?!”

Ahhh… I got it. The coolness of the magnet over-powered the fact that the necklace was pink. And from that point on, I rarely saw Anthony without that particular necklace around the house. I wondered if the other kids at school teased him at all about the necklace. But knowing Anthony, he wasn’t one to care what other people said about him.

A week later, I walked into Anthony’s room and saw his bed was covered with the pink polka dot blanket that we had originally purchased to use as a beach blanket. I laughed. When he walked into the room, he took one defense look towards me and proclaimed “I was cold!”

“What about your dragon blanket?” I had originally bought him a dragon duvet cover with a super “manly” dragon breathing fire.

“Oh – that one isn’t as warm as the pink blanket.”

I laughed. “You could always put the dragon blanket over it.” He shrugged. Well, okay. If he didn’t care, I wasn’t going to care!

Time after time, I’ve seen Anthony turn “color blind” to colors that would typically be seen as “girly”. While Ethan has a set understanding that boys like blue and girls like pink, Anthony just doesn’t seem to care. If the blanket gets the job done, who cares what color

20110330-044704.jpg

"So what if it's pink!!"

it is? While he’d prefer to have everything in his room black, falling asleep under a pink polka dot blanket isn’t going to ruin his day. (In contrast, Ethan would have an ultimate melt down if I were to ever suggest such a thing!)

With this blog post in my mind, I asked Anthony if he would pose with a bright pink car. After taking the picture, he turned to me and said, “You’re not going to post this on Facebook are you!?!”

“No – I was going to put it on our blog.”

“What!?”

“Well, I was thinking of explaining how you don’t seem to care what color things are. If it’s useful, you’re going to use it!”

He nodded thoughtfully. “That is so true. Alright, post it!”

That’s my boy….

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sara
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 10:19:34

    Rock on, Anthony. ❤

    Reply

  2. MAC
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 10:23:14

    Maybe he’s a future rock star ala Duran Duran.

    Reply

  3. krisha
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 10:32:42

    future artist right there 🙂

    Reply

  4. Andi
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 11:09:09

    Anthony – you go with your color-blindness. . . awesome.

    Reply

  5. Mia Stringer
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 11:16:21

    On tour this past weekend a little 4 yr old and him mom came up and wanted a purple bracelet because purple was his FAVORITE color. And they fully embraced it! I love it! Who care what color shit is. Men rock pink shirts all the time and look damn sexy! Work it Anthony!

    Reply

  6. Reboloke
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 11:35:14

    Awesome! I hate it when people make assumptions and accusations about certain colors being “boy colors” or “girl colors.” If you like a color you like a color, it has nothing to do with gender or what bits you have between your legs.

    Also did you know pink used to be considered a boy color? It was a lighter shade of red, which was seen as an aggressive “boy” color, where blue was the softer gentler color and seen as more appropriate for girls.

    Reply

  7. Jen
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 11:40:57

    Brilliant. This is how we parent: we take our cues from our children, and we teach them, regardless of gender, that color is less important the utility or affinity or passion. Well done, you guys! You read my post about Legos, so I’ll spare you the diatribe. And couldn’t we take a lesson from your son and apply it to human relations? Skin color, religion, culture? Nothing matters so much as our humanity.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

