Treasure Chests

This year, on New Year’s day, the boys were able to finally open and count their treasure chests! This is a project we’ve been working on with them for three years now.

It started when Ethan was totally into pirates and noticed a gold dollar I had and asked me why I had pirate booty. The idea hit me that it would be really cool to use gold dollars as rewards for the boys in addition to their allowance.

The gold coins were not given to them for doing chores but for when they showed me examples of qualities I felt they needed to learn to be good young men. An example of this would be to take on chores for Nana without being asked to, or putting others’ needs first, or showing compassion when their brother was having a rough day.

At the end of the first year I let them count the coins Anthony had 36 and Ethan 32. I made a deal with them that they could either 1. take out any money they wanted to spend or 2. Any money they left in the treasure chest to continue into the next year would be doubled. They both choose to leave the money in the chest.

When the next year came around, the chose once again to save it all and I once again doubled it. Smart kids. This year was the last year of our deal and today they opened their gold coins with glimmers in their eyes. Each now had over $200 in gold coins.

This was a great project for the boys and was a very tangible way for them to learn about saving and money. I was happy to see both their eyes like up. Now the questions is: what will they do with their new-found treasure?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 19:27:46

    OMG I love this idea Jason! Do you mind if I “borrow” it for Blade?

    Reply

  2. Jamie
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 06:15:39

    Seriously, you might be the smartest Dad ever.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

