A Working Mom Isn’t a Bad Thing

I had been looking forward to these 2 weeks for months.  Finally, a break from work where I would have 12 whole days to spend with my family.  After traveling through Europe and Canada for work, I was looking forward to reconnecting with my little one, getting some play time with the boys and catching up on the household chores.

Currently, on day 6 of being off,  I’ve done that! Keira and I have been able to strengthen our bound even through the damaged nature of our nursing relationship after my trip.  We’ve established our morning routine of cuddling in bed as we both gently wake up each day.  It’s a blessing to have that moment to focus on only each other without worry in those quiet moments as she attempts to crawl around the pillows and blankets.  There is absolutely nothing better than starting off your day with baby giggles.

Evenings, after Keira is off to bed, the boys and I have taken to picking a board game to play and spend more “grown up” time…  well, more grown up than singing “Shapes and circles everywhere!” with Keira but still with fart jokes.  The boys get a time to tell me about their day over trying to get the right spelling of “sack” during Scrabble.  And I get a time to be the more adult version of Mom.  It’s created a lot of hilarious moments as Anthony accidentally squirts ice cream out his nose or Ethan falls over from laughing so hard.

But the part that has made me happy to be a working mom is the space in between.  While Jason is at work, I’ve had to balance the schedules of a finicky baby and two rambunctious tweens while cleaning house, doing laundry, making lunches.  Stay-at-home moms, I just don’t know how you do it!  By 3 o’clock, I am READY for Jason to walk through the door.  But he never does!

“I was worried about you today,” Jason told me when he finally got home.

“Worried?? Why!?”

“You. Three Kids. Home. Alone. ……. Well, let’s face it – it’s just not your forte!”

Too true.  I love my children.  I love this moment that we have together.  But I’ll be happy to go back to the adult work world to talk about something other than the color of baby poop.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Melinda
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 00:38:59

    Hi KT – I love your post and can totally relate! I’ve been home with Dylan for a month now, and love it. But it is nice to take small visits to my office, sit at my desk, and talk to people who can talk back!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

