Time Capsule

I’ve started a new project with Anthony and Ethan. I’m going to be creating a “Time Capsule” for each of them. I’ll put some of their school work in there and a few other odds and ends. What I’m going to have them do over the next couple weeks is answer a set of questions that I think they will find interesting to look back at when they are 20 or 30.

So Yesterday I asked them both to list 20 things they wanted to learn in life. Then I had them add why they wanted to learn these things and what jobs they thought might use these skills. I’m posting their answers because they are too cute not to share.

Anthony’s List: Dads comments in red

1. Fly a Plane Why?: I want to fly around the world. Who needs this trait?: Pilots ( Me too )

2. Blow Stuff up Why?: Fun way to get rid of useless objects. Who needs this trait?: Scientists ( Greatest explanation why EVER)

3. Build Robots Why?: So i can have someone help me. Who needs this trait?: Scientists ( what he doesn’t realize yet is that what kids are for ūüėõ )

4.Fly Helicopter Why?: So I can fly around the world  Who needs this trait?: Pilots

5. Learn to Speak all Languages Why?: So I can travel around the world  Who needs this trait?: Translators.

6. Learn to play Electric Guitar¬† Why?: It’s a good instrument Who needs this trait?: Rock-stars

7. Taekwondo Why?: Self Defense Who needs this trait?: Military (AKA so I can kick my brothers butt)

8. Jump Hurdles Why?:  I like to jump objects Who needs this trait?: Athletes

9. Front Flips Why?: Because they are difficult  Who needs this trait?: Stuntmen

10. Back Flips Why?: because they are difficult  Who needs this trait?: Stuntmen

11. Read minds Why?:  Useful Who needs this trait?: Superheros (guess that answers the age old geek question: Fly or read minds?)

12. Take stuff apart and put it back together Why?: To understand things Who needs this trait?: Engineer (just stop doing it to things that aren’t broken in the house!)

13. Juggle Knifes Why?: It’s dangerous Who needs this trait?: ? (My own fault : I do this. )

14. Build a Catapult Why?: Cause they are ancient Who needs this trait?: Engineer (Why cause it’s fun darn it! everyone should have at least one.)

15. Save and Spend Money Wisely Why?: Useful Who needs this trait?: Bankers (This one made my freaking day!)

16. Blow Glass Why?: decorations Who needs this trait?: Renaissance Faire Glass Blowers

17. Build a fire in the fireplace Why?: Useful Who needs this trait?: A Dad :’-)

18. Sketch Why?: for fun Who needs this trait?: Artists

19. Build a Hovercraft Why?: cool Vehicle  Who needs this trait?: Scientist (Heck yeah!)

20. Climb Mountains Why?:  Hobie Who needs this trait?: athletes

From all this I’ve determined Anthony is going to be an inventor who makes tons of money and globe trots around in is own airplane. In his spare time he’s going to become a stuntman/special effects person so he can blow stuff up and build catapults. And like many people with too much money he’s going to start a rock band that wont ever really get that far cause he’ll be spending too much time climbing mountains in Asia to ever tour. Oh and don’t forget he’ll be rolling up to your house in a Hover Craft designed by Deeds Designs inc.¬†

Ethan’s List Dad’s comments in red.

1. To Fly a Helicopter Why?: So I can fly around the world Who needs this trait?: Pilots

2. How to build a robot Why?:¬† So I wont get lonely Who needs this trait?: Engineers (as long as I’m around you’ll never be alone.)

3. How to build an airplane Why?: It would make me capable of building one if I had all the pieces Who needs this trait?: Engineers

4. How to build a car Why?:  So I could understand the engine Who needs this trait?: Engineers

5. How to paint Why?: I want to teach Art Who needs this trait?: Artists (just not on the walls okay)

6. How to play the bass Why?: I’m interested in Deep instruments Who needs this trait?: Musicians (there is a lonely Bass guitar downstairs in the basement.)

7. How to build a Military Ship Why?:  Who needs this trait?:Engineers

8. How to pitch accurately Why?: I want to pitch in baseball Who needs this trait?: Baseball Players (first step keep your eyes open when you throw)

9. How to build pencils Why?:  So I can make my own Who needs this trait?: Engineers

10. How to make a sword Why?: Because I want to work at the Renaissance Faire Who needs this trait?: Blacksmiths (can we start with nerf swords)

11. How to take profession pictures Why?:  I like to take pictures Who needs this trait?: Photographer (just ask mom)

12. How to blow glass Why?:  the process is so interesting Who needs this trait?: Glass blowers (maybe we could get a family discount to learn)

13. How to build a submarine Why?: Blank  Who needs this trait?: Blank

14. How to launch a rocket to the moon Why?: Because I would like to someday Who needs this trait?: Scientists (when you do make sure there is a seat for me.)

15. If Alien Exist Why?:¬† I can I always think I see UFO’s Who needs this trait?: S.E.T.I. (if you find out let Papa know he was right)

16. How to make Military Weapons Why?: To help defend our country Who needs this trait?: Engineer

17. How make a rockets Why?:  I want to help NASA make the next Rocket Who needs this trait?: Engineer (do this before number 14)

18. How to catch a football with one hand Why?:  So I can be a running back Who needs this trait?: Football players (I think we need to go over player positions)

19. How to build a TV Why?: So I know what materials are needed Who needs this trait?: Engineer (you can’t have one in your own room till you move out, even if you build it.)

20. How to make Ink Why?: So I can make ink when I need it Who needs this trait?: Engineer (I’m curious when you think you’ll need it)

From all this I’ve determined that Ethan will work for NASA working on their Deep space missions building ships that are like a Space Navy. He’ll have to build a robot to keep him company on the long voyages. He’s going to play in his brother’s rock band via web-cast from deep space. In his off time he will look for alien life and play space football on the observation deck of the USS Deedski, the first Military Spaceship to fly outside our Galaxy.¬†

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. donita
    Dec 23, 2010 @ 15:21:11

    This was hilarious! The best part were the summaries of what they will grow up to be…I absolutely laughed out loud.

    Reply

  2. jasondeeds
    Dec 24, 2010 @ 07:53:54

    Thanks Donita,

    The boys are always making me laugh. I needed to share it with everyone.And Merry Christmas!

    Reply

  3. Brenda Boitson
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 15:54:56

    LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE. I need to borrow these boys again soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

