Middle of the Road Mama

I know I’ve spoken the praise of social media for mothers. But I can’t help the feeling of being estranged from my motherhood brethern as I search for moms like me through the internet. I’m a middle of the road mama. In the Mommy Wars, I tend to ride the line.

Watching Ethan's Football Game

Breastfeeding? Formula? Do whatever you feel comfortable with. But the mom should be the one deciding, not well-meaning relatives or formula companies.

The ever present Mommy War over on-demand feeding and scheduling: Ha – I do both! Cloth diapers? Disposable? Sure – love to do cloth. If only I wasn’t already 8 loads of laundry behind… so disposable it is.

I carry my baby around in a sling one day and then keep her in the car seat the next. I’ll put her to bed in her own crib in her own room and then curl up with her in my bed for naps during the day. I’ll let her the baby grumble and fuss her self to sleep but always rock her if she screams or cries.

The best way to get work done with a fussy baby!

For my older boys, I believe in the use of positive reinforcement. “Use the carrot – not the stick.” But I also know that sometime, positive reinforcement just doesn’t answer all the problems. And then comes groundings… and priveldges lost… and bedtimes moved up.

It’s a Mommy balancing act. I strive to make my children independent and self sufficient. But I hope to instill into them the love and support that their Mommy is there to back them up when they need it. I’m not into attachment parenting – I’m into connection parenting. Create that connection with your child, teach them the rules of the game, and let them jump out of the nest when they’re ready. If they fall, I’ll be there at the bottom saying, “Sucked, didn’t it? Ready to try again?”

My Little Birds!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jamie
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 07:07:22

    I’m right there with you, Kirsten! 😀

    Reply

  2. Jessica
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 06:45:13

    Love this! “I’m not into attachment parenting – I’m into connection parenting.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

