Mama’s Missing

Maybe you’ve noticed this blog has been a little silent lately.  It’s been a crazy couple of weeks…. work picked up and I was in stealth mode on all angles.  I had to cut down everything to the bare minimum.  No nights out with friends.  No staying up late.  No sleeping “in” until 6:30am.

And no blogging….

It’s been a little difficult on my psyche with work balancing on the heavy side of the scale.  I was slipping out of the house before the kids were awake and coming home only just in time to quickly eat, feed a baby, and send them all off to bed.  There was no time for my husband because bottles had to be washed, laundry had to be done. And then we all got sick and evenings were spent just trying to get through the next minute.  One thing after another.

On the drive to and from work, I reflected on where I was.  What was I teaching my children by going into work while totally sick?  Was I sacrificing my children by being too busy during the day to even pump?  Would my children grow up wondering why Mommy had to work so much?  It was a field day of “baby mommy”s and self-deprecation.

As the work slowed down, and the dust settled, I was able to give myself a pep talk. Now is only temporary. Yes, being away from the family when it’s “family time” sucks. But when Mommy returns, the kids still know that I love them.  Somehow, the bottles still are full enough to feed baby Keira.  And last night, as the family sat around and played Clue, I still felt that family connection as we all joked around the game board and laughed at the sounds coming through the baby monitor.

Yes, Mama may have been missing but feeling that satisfaction when the family finally comes together somehow makes it all worth it.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Danielle S.
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 21:01:27

    Hey lady! I look forward to “catching up” with you in a stalker-y, internet-y way. It was great to see you and I wish you all the best!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

