The Over-Scheduling of a Type A Mom

There’s been times I’ve been called a “Type A” mom. It’s true. I’m a scheduler. I have my FranklinCovey planner that I carry with me constantly to schedule out my day and tasks. I have a Mom calendar at home that lists all the big events in our lives, columnized by child. Then I have a Google Calendar to arrange the entire family’s schedule to see hourly what’s going on with everyone, when we need the nanny, when do I need to leave work early for football practice, and what days are open to possibly plan some social events in (if at all). On top of that, I have a white board in the kitchen that has everyone’s schedule for the week for the family’s easy reference.

For almost 2 years, this worked for us! It’s been a delicate coordination event to make sure that someone is always home for the boys and that everyone gets where they need to be on time. But ever since Keira, I’m finding that this planning strategy just isn’t working. I’m finding myself so burnt out from the end of the day that I can’t get anything done at home or for me. I’m completely wiped out from the dance of trying to keep my family busy and happy. And just forget about ever trying to be on time.

I can’t help but wonder if maybe my kids would be happier if there was less going on in their lives. Every season it’s a different sport the boys are interested in. Every year, a new musical instrument. Then they ask me to schedule play dates. They want to go to Hersheypark. They want to have a sleep over. Football, baseball, basketball, wrestling, kung fu, fencing, language classes…. It just goes on and on and on.

But would they really be missing much if they weren’t doing these things? Now the boys get home from school, rush through homework, quickly practice their musical instrument, rush through dinner (or even grab on the run), go through a two hour sport practice, and then rush home, get thrown into shower before being shooed off to bed, just to start all over the next morning. All the while, I’m carting around an infant in various states and moods. What if instead the kids had time to play outside? What if we had time to have a real family dinner? What if the kids were able to play on the internet and explore topics of interest on their own? Would they be happier? Would a state of calm actually be attainable for this family of three children???

Ok, “state of calm” and “three children” should never be mentioned in the same sentence. But still I wonder… at what point do we realize that “more” doesn’t really equal “better”?

Leave a Reply

