Conclusion: The Crib Conversion

After getting myself ferociously upset about moving Keira from the cradle to her own crib, the entire event has been very anti-climatic.

Anthony talks to Keira

Night 1: Keira went to bed around 9:30pm and woke up at 6am in the morning. No different than any other night! The only difference for Jason and I is that DADDY WAS ON DUTY!! After almost four months of me being the one to tend to Keira whenever she woke up in the middle of the night, Jason has decided that he’s taking over. I’m not arguing. What that meant for Jason was…. he had a very rough first night. Keira slept beautifully but he kept waking himself up throughout the night, worried he wouldn’t wake up if she started crying. I personally had the best night of sleep I’ve had in a while.

Night 2: Absolutely uneventful. I woke up blinking as the first rays of the sun started streaming in. And heard a little whimper over the baby monitor. I looked at the clock. 7:00. Huh. So, I went and got Keira and brought her back to the bedroom to nurse her. Jason woke up slowly. “So… what time did she get up last night?”

“She didn’t….”

*blink blink*

She’s NEVER slept until 7am before!! It must be the miracle of the crib. Maybe those little butterflies keep her company and she lulls herself back off to sleep….

Mommy snuggles before bed

Night 3: Down at 9am and crying at 5am…. Heeellloooooo pooosplosion. After Jason got her all cleaned up, she still wouldn’t settle down. I came in to nurse her and then rock her back to sleep. She wasn’t having it! I handed her to Jason. Nope – cranky, cranky, cranky! It wasn’t until 6am that we finally got her off to sleep. Ugh. Stupid poosplosion.

So overall, it’s been pretty positive for us. It’s been nice to have my bedroom back. I’ve been watching TV and reading… heck, I’m even blogging in bed as we speak! (With a glass of wine – pardon any spelling errors. ;)) And it seems Keira is ready to be a “big girl” in her own little butterflied bedroom.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Secret Sleeper « Domestic Deeds

Leave a Reply

