Rushing Around: The Life of a Working Mom

In a typical week, the working mom spends 1/4 of her time at work, 1/4 of her time sleeping and the remaining time commuting to work,  getting the kids to school, doing laundry,  making breakfast, making dinner, cleaning bathrooms….. the list goes on and on.

But where’s the time to actually spend time with the kids??

When we first started raising Anthony and Ethan, that was my very first depressing thought. I barely saw them in the mornings as I raced off to work. And by the time I got home from work it was rush, rush, rush to get dinner made and eaten. Rush, rush, rush to get chores done. And then rush, rush, rush the boys off to bed! On late nights at work, which is common in my field, I was lucky if I was home before the boys were off to bed.

With Keira here, it seems that this issue has become even bigger. Now I’ve got one more person to do laundry for. There’s one more person to feed (who doesn’t eat at the same time as the rest of us). Add on diaper changes and cranky baby time. It’s hard not to feel like the boys are being cheated on with our time split in so many directions.

Last night, I shot out the door of work, picked up pizzas and joined my family for TV night watching BBC shows. After the show, we sat in the dark as I played on the floor with Keira and the rest of the family sat on the couches and we just talked and giggled over Keira. It was such a beautiful moment to slow down and enjoy my family. It’s one of those moments that reminds you of what all the rushing around is all about.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Aug 07, 2010 @ 12:05:34

    I know I’m going to feel this when I go back to work. I can’t imagine what it’s like with three!

    Reply

  2. Eugene Hochnadel
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 05:50:35

    This a fabulous post and may be one that is followed up to see how things go

    A friend mailed this link the other day and I will be excitedly waiting your next write-up. Continue on the fantastic work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

