Post-Baby Body

Wouldn’t it be nice if a woman’s post-baby body was as respected and loved as when she carries that baby?

Everyone loves a pregnant belly. Husbands rub it lovingly and random strangers will smile and stare at it as they pass or ask how long to go. But suddenly, as soon as the baby is out, women start to curse their belly, their stretch marks and sometimes their c-section scar. Why can’t we celebrate these “battle scars” like we do with a pregnant belly?

So, I’m starting with my own body and mind. I’m going to love that c-section scar for bringing my little Keira into the world. I’ll celebrate those stretch marks as proof that my uterus could grow and hold her tight until she was ready to join us. And that extra fat? Thank you for keeping her safe through all my clumsy pregnant trips and falls!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jasondeeds
    Jul 21, 2010 @ 15:20:08

    This is a great way of looking at it! I think you positive view of life is amazing.

    Reply

  2. Heather
    Jul 21, 2010 @ 17:13:54

    I love you and this, I find your outlook to be needed by all post pregnant women.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Investing in Yourself « Domestic Deeds
  4. Trackback: 2010 in review « Domestic Deeds

Leave a Reply

