Three kids – One of Each

When I was growing up, my dad always said, “I’ve got 3 kids; one of each!” As the youngest child, I’m pretty sure that I was the one labeled as “other”.

Now, at the age of 27, I find myself uttering this same phrase when talking about Anthony, Ethan and Keira. I don’t think I ever imagined that I would have three kids at this point my life. But sometimes life’s curveballs are the most cherished parts.

The world of three kids is a completely different world. With the two boys, Jason and I believed in divide and conquer. Handling one was so much easier than the both together. But now they have us outnumbered!

Sometimes the boys take advantage of this fact. Like now, when they’re supposed to be helping set the table for dinner and know that I won’t yell up the stairs while holding a sleeping baby. Then there’s the moments when Keira is having a complete meltdown and they ask to go out and play. “Yes, fine! Go!!” Did they count on me forgetting I just asked them to clean their rooms? You betcha!

But then there’s also been a beautiful transformation to “big brothers”. Ethan loves to play with Keira non-stop, singing, quacking, playing peek-a-boo… All in hopes that he’ll get a smile out of her. He’ll entertain her for as long as she’ll let him, letting me move on to my mommy duties. You can just see how much he loves his little sister when his eyes light up.

Anthony has become our Mr. Responsible. I’ll admit it. I had a little freak out this afternoon. With laundry piling up, a dirty house, not eating breakfast or lunch, and a cranky poo-exploding baby on my hands, I flew off the handle today. Unfortunately, as Anthony was the one around, he took the brunt of it. After I had taken a few breaths, I went up to him and hugged him. He could tell Mom was losing it and quickly went on a pick-up-and-do-whatever-Mom-needs spree! He loaded the dishwasher, got sick Ethan some water, picked up a bit, and talked to a fussing Keira while I loaded up the washing machine. All the while, he constantly asked, “How else can I help, Mom?” Wow. What a great kid.

It seems that adding Keira into this home has just brought us all together. I think Jason may have it figured out. We have three kids, one of each. Heart, mind and soul.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Donita
    Aug 07, 2010 @ 22:23:25

    Beautiful!

    Reply

  2. Jessica
    Aug 08, 2010 @ 16:19:45

    So sweet.

    Reply

  3. Heather
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 10:19:39

    Sweetheart? I love your blog and the joy it brings me to read it. I about cried.

    Reply

  4. John Landis Jr
    Aug 14, 2010 @ 18:23:46

    Here, here, coming from one parent of three to another. Keep on truckin.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

